The university started in June 2003 with 411 students. The faculty started off with three undergraduate honours programmes--Bachelor of Arts (Hons) Chinese Studies, Bachelor of Communication (Hons) Journalism and Bachelor of Communication (Hons) Public Relations.  Currently, there are more than 15000 students, out of which, as of 31 January 2008, 3000 odd students are in this faculty, enrolled into eight honours degree programme:

  •             Bachelor of Arts (Hons) Chinese Studies
  •             Bachelor of Arts (Hons) English Language
  •             Bachelor of Communication (Hons) Journalism
  •             Bachelor of Communication (Hons) Public Relations
  •             Bachelor of Communication (Hons) Advertising
  •             Bachelor of Communication (Hons) Broadcasting
  •             Bachelor of Social Science (Hons) Psychology
  •             Bachelor of Arts (Hons) Graphic Design and Multimedia

Students from the faculty have excelled not only in the academic arena but also in external events. One notable achievement is the Best Short Film Award in the Multimedia University Movie Society Film Festival 2006/7. Melissa Lim Siew Ming, Tan Fui Fong, Tan Yee Lu, Teh Li Yin, Teng Suet Mui and Yee Siew Hui from the Bachelor of Communication (Hons) Broadcasting received this award for their film entitled "Chameleon".  

Students who have graduated from the faculty have since been absorbed into the working world. Some have pursued further studies locally and overseas. Examples of some students who have gained admission to pursue graduate studies overseas are:



Graduate Programme

Yeo Sy Chee

M. A. in Euroculture , Palacky Uni,

Czechoslovakia (Erasmus Mundus Scholarship)

Emily Tan#

Erasmus Mundus Masters: Journalism and Media Within Globalization: The European Perspective--Financial Specialization

(Erasmus Mundus Scholarship)

Esther Teh *

Master of Arts in International Communications Studies

University of Nottingham, China

(Chancellor. Yang Fujia Scholarship)

Gan Pei Lee

Master of Arts in International Communications Studies

University of Nottingham, China

(Chancellor Yang Fujia Scholarship)

Chan Wen Ling

Master studies in Mass Communication, NTU, Singapore

Chai Wei Sin

Master studies in the National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Liang Yuh Hwang

Master studies in the Dept. of Language and Linguistics, Yuan Zhe University, Taiwan

Yong Boon Lin

Ph. D. in Communications; Kyoto and Doshisha Universities; Monhukagakusho (MEXT) Scholarship.

Angeline Spykerman

Master of Arts in International Communications Studies; University of Nottingham, China

(Chancellor Yang Fujia Scholarship)


# Ms. Emily Tan has graduated from her Masters programme and is now working with The Edge

* Ms. Esther Teh has since finished her studies and is presently serving as an academic staff in the Faculty of Creative Industries